Taking the stress out of your child's annual celebrations!

Watching Mr Punch , age 5

As a London Children’s entertainer, my work consists of entertaining London’s children, from babies up until around 8 years old. By then they’re all too grown up for the simple joys of puppets, apparently. It’s funny, I first encountered puppets as a child on the beach front in Skegness. It was Mr Punch, hitting Judy over the head with his slap stick and shouting THAT’s the way to do it! I was dressed to match my dolly who watched with her still glassy eyes from my lap as I cradled her gently. She enjoyed it as much as I did. I remember her telling me so.

Despite the clear domestic violence and the real lack of story and plot line,from that first crude puppet show, I was hooked. I’ve been hooked on puppets ever since and now , 42 years later, I’m still in love with the magic of puppetry.

My, how things have changed since those days.
But I still believe there is a constancy in the simple joys of puppets and the journey into imagination that they facilitate. No electronic game or fancy doodah can replace this simple joy.
And for that I am eternally grateful.

That’s the way to do it!

Comments on: "Entertaining London’s Children" (1)

  1. […] Entertaining London’s Children (kidspartyheaven.wordpress.com) GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_bg", "ffffff"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_border", "dddddd"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_text", "444444"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_link", "ac6c13"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_url", "6ab32e"); GA_googleAddAttr("LangId", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "dianes-puppets"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "for-parents"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "holidays"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "nostalgia"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "puppets"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "traditional-stories"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "judy"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "punch"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "punch-and-judy"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "puppetry"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "spitting-image"); GA_googleFillSlot("wpcom_sharethrough"); Share this:FacebookDiggStumbleUponTwitterRedditLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

