Taking the stress out of your child's annual celebrations!

office chair

Image by chotda via Flickr

I was on the bus on my way to my last storytelling session at my favourite school in Blackheath, musing over the stories that were to be told in my head. As I prepared my repertoire mentally, I gazed in an unfocused stare out of the window. I was totally unprepared for what I saw.

As the bus drove past grey grimy shop after grey grimy shop my eyes were startled by the following window display. In large letters on sheets of A4 paper stuck on the window, I saw

Damien Hirst bought a chair from us!

This really made me chuckle. This was celebrity endorsement like I’d never seen before. Here was a very normal , some may say downtrodden ,office furniture shop in the New Cross area of London using their creativity and really catching my attention. Even though there seemed to be an absolute glut of office furniture shops on that particular road, this shop was the one I’d remember.

It made me ponder on how resourceful people become in tough times like these. We are all struggling to make ends meet in what is a very difficult time, not only in England but across the globe. When times get tough, the tough get going. I often think that this economic downturn has an unexpected benefit of really strengthening individual’s resolve and stripping back the average and showcasing the special.

I’ve bumped into the very talented man called Damien Hirst at a few parties in my capacity as a London children’s entertainer. Once I was instructed to set up my puppet booth in front of a very famous medicine cabinet. I felt a little anxious when I realised just where I’d seen that medicine cabinet before. It bore all the markings of Damien Hirst and lo and behold, he was one of the guests. I then realised my client was of a very prestigious family with a history steeped in film making. I’d watched my client’s brother on the television riding his motorbike across Africa with the very lovely Ewan McGregor.

Sometimes being a London Children’s entertainer and puppeteer is a lot of fun!

Diane has been recommended by a celebrity or two as well.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

