Taking the stress out of your child's annual celebrations!

It’s something I hear quite often in my work as a London children’s party entertainer: ” How do you do it?” I heard it asked of me today at a lovely local party for a  sweet five year old girl, it was followed by , “Do you have magic powers or something?”.

Magic powers? Maybe, if you consider energy to be magic powers.

Let me explain.

The mummy in question was intrigued at how I managed to have a bunch of five year old boys and girls sitting patiently waiting for a puppet show. There was no fighting, no screaming, no chaos, just calm anticipation and a big buzz of excitement going around the room too.

This question is asked of me often.

It is a wonderful feeling for me to walk into a party full of excited children and have them quickly sitting down, calm and focused and eager to participate in silliness and stories.
Do I have magical powers?

Not in the Harry Potter sense, no.

What I do have to my advantage is what I call ‘Stranger Power’ plus a certain calm assertive energy that is useful for leaders and dog owners!

 

Stranger power is something I’ve observed whilst I’ve been entertaining children over the past 18 years. What do I mean by it? Well, when I walk into someone’s home, I am expected to take control of the party . I become a stranger with a position of authority over the children. They see me as fun, ( I’m often found lying down with the children playing Sleeping Bunnies

See the little bunnies sleeping

as well as hopping up and down ) but they’re not totally sure of who I am .  Therefore they regard me with caution, rather than pushing the boundaries of someone that they are familiar with. So, if I ask the children to do something in a certain assertive tone, like magic they cooperate.

Children view me with a certain positive suspicion. My attire ( ribbons in my hair and very bright sparkly clothes)

Silly ribbons but serious about partying.

suggest a fun , possibly silly person, they see Party Entertainer/ storyteller/ puppeteer when they look at me,  which gets their playful juices flowing, but then they meet my energy.  After encountering the wonderful Dog Whisperer Cesar Milan on the television ( and becoming a total disciple) I’ve worked on maintaining  a calm assertive state when attending children’s parties. This works totally in my favour as I am able to direct the proceedings of the party  in a calm but fun way.

No one needs chaos. No one likes chaos.

Today I face painted butterflies and vampires on the faces of five year old’s .

The vampires ( boys in this instance) decided to chase the butterflies ( girls). Screams ensued as well as a little bit of chasing round the garden. I continued to paint faces until I heard the tone of the screams turn from excitement and fun to hysteria, then it was time to change the energy before the fun turned to tears.

I used my calm assertive energy ( and my god-given booming voice) to gather the children to sing happy birthday and calm was restored once more without the vampires feeling they had been reined in.

The secret is keeping control without the children being aware that that is what you are doing. Walking that tightrope  between keeping things calm and becoming a party pooper can sometimes be tricky, but I think I’ve got it down to a fine art now.

If that makes me magical, then so be it!

Abracadabra!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

