Taking the stress out of your child's annual celebrations!

Mermaids have more fun

Oh the things I do for love.

 

The love of my job that is.

My job as a London Children’s Entertainer and birthday puppet show provider keeps me on my toes, or my fishy tail.

 

I’ve had a request to do a mermaid themed party. Being a lady who likes a challenge, I’ve been exploring all things mermaid and am excited at the creative possibilities of the theme. I’ve unearthed my 20 year old carrier bag full of sea shells that I collected yes, twenty years ago with the idea of doing something creative with them. Who says that hoarding isn’t a useful habit? I’m about to put them to good use after 20 years. I’m still not quite sure what I’m going to do with them as yet, but something grotto-ish will be inevitable.

I’ve found a use for that long blonde wig that I’ve had hanging around for some reason I can’t even remember. I decided to paint my face as a mermaid and try out the mermaid long blonde look.

Oh dear.

Why do wigs make me look like a man in drag?

I thought I’d look like this

My mermaid puppet

 

But instead I got this:

I don't look quite how I expected to look. Sigh.

At least the face painting looks nice

 

I’m not sure that blonde is my colour. I can’t believe I bleached my hair for over 20 years. I’m so glad I’ve found my sense in my forties.

I’m not sure the pearlised white base is terribly flattering for late 40’s skin either…

So I took the wig off.

Ah that's better.

 

I think I shall stick to being a brunette mermaid with grey streaks.

 

 

Comments on: "Mermaids have more fun" (4)

  1. […] Mermaids have more fun (kidspartyheaven.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] Mermaids have more fun (kidspartyheaven.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] Of The WeekFancy Nancy and All things Girly….2011 Scene Style For Emo GirlsFairy Make OverMermaids have more fun #content-body,x:-moz-any-link{float:left;margin-right:28px;}#content-body, x:-moz-any-link, […]

  4. Diane, I really love your mermaid puppet. In fact I have just come across your blog and find it very interesting. I like your themes and the concepts that you use. I shall be following you from now on!
    Well done -great stuff.
    Shelly

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

