Taking the stress out of your child's annual celebrations!

Kevin Clash and Elmo, 92YTribeca 8/18/11

Kevin Clash and Elmo, 92YTribeca 8/18/11 (Photo credit: 92YTribeca)

Being Elmo : an inspirational film

Last night I went to see the wonderful documentary Being Elmo at the Ritzy Cinema in Brixton. I had booked a ticket to go and see this film ( and Q & A session ) a week previously and I had been eagerly anticipating this event. I wasn’t to be disappointed.

I laughed, I connected emotionally with the puppeteer and star of the documentary Kevin Clash  and yes, I cried but not from sadness but from sheer joy.  It was a truly marvellous film.I wasn’t alone, the cinema was packed and everyone there was clearly feeling the love.

To witness a film respecting the silly, regarding the seriousness of the craft and paying tribute to the massively important role that puppets and a good puppeteer can play in imparting a basic human connection ( in Elmo’s case giving out hugs) was genuinely moving for me. So moving in fact, that when it came to the Q & A session with the wonderfully human and totally charming  director Constance Marks and her husband/ partner in crime and Cinematographer James Miller, I could barely get out my compliments without bursting into tears. In any other environment that would have been rather embarrassing but after viewing this very human movie, no-one was surprised at this reaction. In fact the director  related how they had received Twitter messages from Hells Angels who had confessed to ‘blubbing like a baby’ when viewing the film. So I clearly was not alone in my emotional outburst. Phew!

Here is the James Miller, the cinematographer talking about making the film:

Here is the trailer to the film. Go and see it. You won’t be disappointed. You may even cry, but in a good way!

Comments on: "Puppets: An emotional connection" (3)

  1. This is a new world opening up to me…”Puppeteering” …I guess I can call it that?…So I’m loving seeing your insight and joy in this field…I really like the video and hope sometime to see this documentary …I know I will cry too…Just an added tidbit…thought you might like…My niece was named “Mary Annette” (marionette)…and my brother nicknamed her “Puppet” when she was a baby…Now over 50…this is still what we call her…~mkg

  2. Reblogged this on wordsthroughtheglass and commented:
    Some one else who appreciates my love for Being Elmo. It’s nice to see. x

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

